Jump to content


Photo

Thinking Particles - PDeflector Issue


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 &Son

&Son

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oakland,CA

Posted 24 March 2011 - 09:59 PM

Hello,

I have a "rocket". It needs to fly through a cloud, leaving a hole and scattering about some of the cloud. I am relatively new the Thinking Particles, but I made a set up that should work for my needs. ONLY...its not. The deflector node is looking changing the position of all my particles upon the event. Basically for a few frames my particles jump around then seem to come back together in a different arrangement. The only thing I can assume that could be a factor with this simple set-up is that I have my particles in a matrix object with a random effector generating the random order of clouds, and after it is deflected, it generates a new random seed?

Is there a better set-up, or a solution to this problem?

Please help...

Posted Image

Posted Image

#2 douwe

douwe

    MoGraph Megastar

  • Members
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brussels

Posted 24 March 2011 - 10:10 PM

without a scene file all we can do is guess.

before anything else :
did you check out what the Particle Priority (Before Effector / After Effector ) in the Matrix Object does ?

d

Edited by douwe, 24 March 2011 - 10:10 PM.

www.c4dlounge.eu : dutch c4d community (Belgium / Netherlands)
//////////////////////////////////// douwe on vimeo

#3 tezuka

tezuka

    MoGraph Superstar

  • Members
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin

Posted 24 March 2011 - 10:19 PM

There was a similar question on the cineversity forum, the scenefile there incorporated the group change preset which changed
particle groups based on collision between a polygon object and the particles and no deflector. Here's the link to the thread.
http://www.cineversi...p?TID=3112&PN=2

Edited by tezuka, 24 March 2011 - 10:21 PM.


#4 &Son

&Son

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oakland,CA

Posted 24 March 2011 - 10:33 PM

Here is a link to the file...

https://www.yousendi...qQ0NIcWMwTVE9PQ

#5 douwe

douwe

    MoGraph Megastar

  • Members
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brussels

Posted 24 March 2011 - 11:14 PM

nothing's wrong with your tp/mograph setup. all your particles do exactly what you need them to.
it's the pyrocluster that's misbehaving.

that's the issue you want to troubleshoot.

d
www.c4dlounge.eu : dutch c4d community (Belgium / Netherlands)
//////////////////////////////////// douwe on vimeo

#6 gui

gui

    MoGraph Regular

  • Members
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 March 2011 - 01:46 PM

nothing's wrong with your tp/mograph setup. all your particles do exactly what you need them to.
it's the pyrocluster that's misbehaving.

that's the issue you want to troubleshoot.

d


Man, thats the standard behavior of the matrix generating tp, once you change its group, the matrix generates new particles. I dont know if there is an way to change or bypass that.
What you can do is use, i think, the getvolumeposition node to get a random position inside a cube to generate the particles. Just generate particles using pstorm conected with the surface to make the particles stay inside de cube.
I think it will do. Dont forget to use a timer node to stop creating particles.

I hope it helps!
Math + Motion + Design

#7 douwe

douwe

    MoGraph Megastar

  • Members
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brussels

Posted 28 March 2011 - 10:09 PM

Man, thats the standard behavior of the matrix generating tp, once you change its group, the matrix generates new particles.

@gui :
of course, but the new particles get generated at the old particles' positions.
one particle simply replaces the other.

@&Son :
if you're still looking for a solution : your particles are fine, it's your pyrocluster.
the issue is in the settings of your Pyrocluster's Clouds Materials, and it's only a Preview Issue.
Your Matrix generates 7*6*6 = 252 Particles.
In your Clouds' Shape Tabs, your Max. visible Parameters are set to Preview only 100 clouds.

raise that number = issue solved, right ?

cheers,
douwe
www.c4dlounge.eu : dutch c4d community (Belgium / Netherlands)
//////////////////////////////////// douwe on vimeo

#8 &Son

&Son

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oakland,CA

Posted 29 April 2011 - 07:09 PM

if you're still looking for a solution : your particles are fine, it's your pyrocluster.
the issue is in the settings of your Pyrocluster's Clouds Materials, and it's only a Preview Issue.
Your Matrix generates 7*6*6 = 252 Particles.
In your Clouds' Shape Tabs, your Max. visible Parameters are set to Preview only 100 clouds.

raise that number = issue solved, right ?


Thanks, douwe. Your a life saver.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users