Jump to content


Photo

Lion


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 ChrisC

ChrisC

    MoGraph Demi-god

  • Members
  • 529 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brighton, UK

Posted 21 July 2011 - 12:45 PM

Just a topic about Lion, I'm holding back upgrading the main mean machine but running it on a low use laptop to try out, all seems OK. In particular:

1) Quicktime 7 is still running fine, all previous codecs, output formats available

2) Linotype FontXplorer (what FontBook should look like) survives unscathed

3) Cinebench OGL scores are pimped from 35 to 39.

...... aaaaand that's about it so far, other than the usual OS crud. I'm holding back with the workstation for a bit but so far it's been remarkably smooth.

Cheers - C

#2 baynoise

baynoise

    MoGraph Superstar

  • Members
  • 140 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Brooklyn, NY
  • Interests:Cycling - Motion - Design - Self Exploration

Posted 21 July 2011 - 01:01 PM

Just a topic about Lion, I'm holding back upgrading the main mean machine but running it on a low use laptop to try out, all seems OK. In particular:

1) Quicktime 7 is still running fine, all previous codecs, output formats available

2) Linotype FontXplorer (what FontBook should look like) survives unscathed

3) Cinebench OGL scores are pimped from 35 to 39.

...... aaaaand that's about it so far, other than the usual OS crud. I'm holding back with the workstation for a bit but so far it's been remarkably smooth.

Cheers - C




thanks for the heads up



#3 firemind

firemind

    Founder

  • Admin
  • 405 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Posted 21 July 2011 - 02:20 PM

c4d is fine, ae is fine, Modo & nuke are not. But don't use those anyway. Luckily I don't ise ical, or i'd be pissed ;)
twitter.com/motion_designer

#4 ChrisC

ChrisC

    MoGraph Demi-god

  • Members
  • 529 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brighton, UK

Posted 21 July 2011 - 03:01 PM

c4d is fine, ae is fine, Modo & nuke are not.


Don't use Nuke, but modo seems fine here - 501 anyway.

But don't use those anyway. Luckily I don't ise ical, or i'd be pissed ;)


Leather the colour of diarrhoea - what's not to like?

#5 Basic

Basic

    MoGraph Superstar

  • Members
  • 157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Aus

Posted 21 July 2011 - 03:46 PM

sounds good for AE and would that include PS and Ills also? any one know if Maya 2011 is working ok?

#6 superegophobia

superegophobia

    MoGraph Megastar

  • Members
  • 301 posts

Posted 21 July 2011 - 04:19 PM

c4d is fine, ae is fine, Modo & nuke are not. But don't use those anyway. Luckily I don't ise ical, or i'd be pissed ;)

In case people want to change the vomit inducing look of iCal back to the previous one:
http://gizmodo.com/5...-survival-guide

Also Lion hides the 'Library' folder in your 'User' folder by default (so stupid). Found a post where you can change it back with Terminal or any hidden folder/file for that matter:
http://www.se7ensins...-os-x-107-lion/

chflags nohidden /Users/<Username>/Library

Edited by superegophobia, 21 July 2011 - 04:29 PM.


#7 deceasar

deceasar

    MoGraph Superstar

  • Members
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, OR

Posted 21 July 2011 - 04:25 PM

I'd be very interested to know if anyone is able to actually test the new OS with NUKE.
deceasar.com

#8 Aaron Scott

Aaron Scott

    MoGraph Demi-god

  • Members
  • 528 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver

Posted 21 July 2011 - 05:38 PM

Weird, the one person I know who updated already said that his QuickTime 7 was destroyed in the upgrade.

#9 Todd Kopriva

Todd Kopriva

    Adobe Mastermind

  • Members
  • 765 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle, WA, USA

Posted 21 July 2011 - 06:02 PM

Here's the list of issues that we know about:
http://kb2.adobe.com...psid_90508.html

None are specific to After Effects, but things like the hidden Library panel and reversed scrolling direction are relevant.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
After Effects quality engineering
After Effects team blog
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#10 ChrisC

ChrisC

    MoGraph Demi-god

  • Members
  • 529 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brighton, UK

Posted 21 July 2011 - 10:06 PM

Don't use Nuke, but modo seems fine here - 501 anyway.


Oops - scratch that. modo is a crash-fest with Lion, even more than before. All OpenGL related I think, whenever I switch view options modo dies.

#11 Sao_Bento

Sao_Bento

    Sermonizes Mograph to the Masses

  • Admin
  • 5,083 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco Bay Area
  • Interests:At this point, pretty much nothing.

Posted 21 July 2011 - 10:35 PM

Seems suicidal to upgrade before Adobe releases its updates.

As the warrior-poet Ice Cube once said "If the day does not require an AK, it is good"

 

#12 AromaKat

AromaKat

    Mrowwr!

  • Members
  • 1,937 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles, CA

Posted 22 July 2011 - 03:52 AM

PC user here... So I am just curious whats really up with this:


Lion Disables Flash, Photoshop Features

"Early to bed, early to rise, work like hell, and advertise."
- Ted Turner


#13 Todd Kopriva

Todd Kopriva

    Adobe Mastermind

  • Members
  • 765 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle, WA, USA

Posted 22 July 2011 - 03:58 AM

Just a note:

I've seen one instance in which you need to clear all of your After Effects preferences after the OS update. Just FYI.

We're running Lion on a lot of machines here with no problems with After Effects or Premiere Pro beyond some minor inconveniences, like those mentioned in my previous post.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
After Effects quality engineering
After Effects team blog
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#14 Sao_Bento

Sao_Bento

    Sermonizes Mograph to the Masses

  • Admin
  • 5,083 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco Bay Area
  • Interests:At this point, pretty much nothing.

Posted 22 July 2011 - 06:33 PM

I doubt that this matters much to most of the folks here, but the Flash acceleration has not been disabled in Lion.
http://blogs.adobe.c...-just-fine.html

As the warrior-poet Ice Cube once said "If the day does not require an AK, it is good"

 

#15 hotbuttertrucker

hotbuttertrucker

    MoGraph Superstar

  • Members
  • 198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Boulder, Colorado

Posted 22 July 2011 - 08:30 PM

I installed Lion yesterday. Sounded like it went smoothly with what I read and improved Performance for cinema. Had to do that java script install that happens automatically after the main upgrade and found the QT7 installer. Everything seems to work fine AE, PSD, AI, FCP, C4d, and Font Explorer Pro. The only thing that broke was my ppc version of Quicken. Guess I will have to give Intuit some more money.

Not really into bells and whistles, but some of the interface updates are nice and like the new mail. The only thing I have to find is a way to turn on volume space that use to be on the bottom of the finder window. Just haven't looked too hard for that yet.

Also when you try to download it again for another computer it says I already purchased it and I could download it again for free.

Good luck to the others that try it.
there can be a healthy disrespect for strategic planning
kerndtdesign.com

#16 Sao_Bento

Sao_Bento

    Sermonizes Mograph to the Masses

  • Admin
  • 5,083 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco Bay Area
  • Interests:At this point, pretty much nothing.

Posted 23 July 2011 - 12:38 AM

The new Font Book prevents you from turning off the essential Mac OSX fonts, which is pretty cool as it limits peoples ability to get into trouble. Not just implemented at the "I wouldn't do that if I were you" dialog, but at the font level, where "deactivate" is not even an option.

As the warrior-poet Ice Cube once said "If the day does not require an AK, it is good"

 

#17 danmarker

danmarker

    MoGraph Superstar

  • Members
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles

Posted 23 July 2011 - 12:43 AM

Also Lion hides the 'Library' folder in your 'User' folder by default (so stupid). Found a post where you can change it back with Terminal or any hidden folder/file for that matter:
http://www.se7ensins...-os-x-107-lion/

chflags nohidden /Users/<Username>/Library


Thanks
-Dan

DON'T CRY BABY Blog
gotta love gifs

#18 danmarker

danmarker

    MoGraph Superstar

  • Members
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles

Posted 24 July 2011 - 03:04 AM

Just a note:

I've seen one instance in which you need to clear all of your After Effects preferences after the OS update. Just FYI.

We're running Lion on a lot of machines here with no problems with After Effects or Premiere Pro beyond some minor inconveniences, like those mentioned in my previous post.


To do this restart AE while holding down the Command + Option + Shift keys (Mac) or Control + Alt + Shift (Windows).


I had to do this as well

(the auto correct feature is whack)
-Dan

DON'T CRY BABY Blog
gotta love gifs

#19 firemind

firemind

    Founder

  • Admin
  • 405 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Posted 24 July 2011 - 06:15 PM

So far it's a big pile of meh, turned autocomplete off, turned window restore off, deleted Launchpad from dock, reversed scroll direction back to normal, Mission control is not an improvement, luckily I don't use ical, mail or the adressbook, i hate app resume... This release feel very "vista" to me with all the crap i have to turn off to get a usable system back.
twitter.com/motion_designer

#20 daxz

daxz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tallinn, Estonia

Posted 25 July 2011 - 10:23 AM

The only thing I have to find is a way to turn on volume space that use to be on the bottom of the finder window. Just haven't looked too hard for that yet.


In Finder, cmd+/ or view menu -> show status bar.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users