3 replies to this topic

#1 TommyTronic

TommyTronic

MoGraph Regular

• Members
  • 80 posts
  • Interests:Design, Movies, Dogs.

Posted 17 April 2012 - 04:45 PM

What's up everybody... This is my first topic here at Mograph.net. Glad to be here. I am a newbie to Motion Graphics. Been doing it since October of 2011, but have a long history with Graphic Design and Sound Design.
My question is - I have some complex extrusions on these sphere type things that I did for a personal project of stills, made in C4D R12 (I recently got R13 too).. You can view these at the link below. What I wanna do is animate these extrusions somehow. I'm doing a motion project with complex extrusions like the ones on the spheres, only on planes this time, making up the walls and floor to a room. I wanna have them slowly extruding. These will kinda be in the background of my shots, and I will be using depth of field, so they won't come into full focus all that much. I think I can get away with more doing that.
Can anybody help explain how to animate these type of extrusions?.. Imma desperate dude.

You may need to download the pdf to get a look at the best examples of the sphere's I'm speaking of.. The ones with the complex kaleidoscope looking patterns.

http://pdfcast.org/p...distantgalaxies

#2 throb36

throb36

MoGraph Superstar

• Members
  • 188 posts
  • Interests:Cheese

Posted 17 April 2012 - 05:17 PM

Looks like you're gonna have to use different techniques for each one. Look into displacement (under materials) or the displacer deformer.

#3 TommyTronic

TommyTronic

MoGraph Regular

• Members
  • 80 posts
  • Interests:Design, Movies, Dogs.

Posted 17 April 2012 - 06:23 PM

Cool... Good suggestion. I didn't think of that... Pretty sure that will work out to get the look I'm goin for... Thanks.

#4 symphonicx

symphonicx

• Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 18 April 2012 - 05:49 PM