jobs interviews tests freelance

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 rjb

rjb

• Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 21 May 2012 - 09:27 AM

So i applied for a freelance job recently, and i'm a bit unsure about it. Basically, the company has said they're interested in hiring me but would like me to come in and do a "test" for a "couple of hours."

Naturally, this seems very odd (i've been working for 4-5 years now and never had this).

Anyone had this before? Any advice?

#2 rolin

rolin

• Members
  • 30 posts
  • Interests:Everything Visual!

Posted 21 May 2012 - 10:09 AM

I've recently stumbled upon a “job” ad where a studio in London invited freelancers to do an audition for a full day!
I'd call this a free pitch or spec work.

You'd think working hard on putting all your fancy previous projects in a great portfolio and show reel should be enough.

I hope this doesn't become an ugly trend!
decollage.tv
Live Performance & Production

Everything Visual Blog
Inspiration & Creativity

#3 ChrisC

ChrisC

MoGraph Demi-god

• Members
  • 551 posts

Posted 21 May 2012 - 10:14 AM

I wouldn't trust this. If you think they're on the level then just specify the rate you'll charge for the test - half a day or so - and gauge the reaction.

#4 anothername

anothername

Mograph Deity

• Members
  • 826 posts

Posted 21 May 2012 - 02:52 PM

My take:

When this is not legit: any time they are asking you to do any kind of mograph (especially design) work for no pay. Your mechanic doesn't fix your muffler for free as a test and then if you like that work you get him to fix your engine, you pay for each repair. Like Chris said if they want to test you for half a day to see how you would fit in at their studio they can pay you for half a day.