• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 _gl

_gl

MoGraph Megastar

• Members
  • 297 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 07:54 PM

Where do you come up with your ideas for motion/movement for objects? 

As a designer, I have been sketching and concepting with a pencil for many years for layout, logo, illustration, etc. What I am finding difficult to translate this process to is actually moving those objects - especially when they don't have an obvious motivation. Primarily this comes up when I get a client that wants the standard mograph deliverable, logo animation, I find myself struggling with ideas on how to make it interesting. I hate the standard camera moves that feel unmotivated yet, that seems to be what happens a lot. I just wondered what others do in ideation especially when the project doesn't really call for specifics "ACME Widgets, Inc.".

-gl

Edited by _gl, 07 January 2013 - 07:55 PM.

#2 jaypeeare

jaypeeare

MoGraph Superstar

• Members
  • 137 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 10:15 PM

I've came up with a recent workflow that helps (with myself and the company I work for) with that process. Typically my director will come up with some sketches, just a general storyboard with little to no timing in mind. I'll go in Cinema as fast as possible to get the general camera moments, simple animation, rough timing that I feel is appropriate and try to get the energy the project is trying to produce, pretty much a previs. I'll render hardware renders & pop them in to After Effects, make some timing adjustments, cut some ends here & there. I'll show it to my director then well usually just keep chugging away at it with iterations with the camera movements & more specific animation points in the spot trying to ignore the littler pieces that can be added in later once the edit is pretty much locked.