Sign in to follow this  
kitkats

Lightwave object into Cinema 4D

Anybody have any advice for me on the best way to do this? Its a fairly simple model of a shoe. I'm not very experienced with texturing or any 3D applications other than C4D... I don't have the model yet, need to give specifications to the other guy, so I could ask for LWOB and try to convert it myself or get him to export as OBJ or something..?

Edited by Steven Kirby

i just opened an .lwo file in c4d with no trouble, it kept all the textures and everthing, i would make sure that has all the textures in the same folder as the file, and has the location set properly of any textures to that specific problem to avoid loss of texture information. I'm still kind of new myself so maybe someone else can chime in, but i tested a lwo and it does work

LWO and LWS files are basically no problem in C4D. Just keep a C4D structure for the object and images

Exceptions are layered LW objects (different layers within 1 objectfile) which can act weird in C4D. C4D tends to use the whole object on every layer instead of the seperate layer info.

But that's my experience using LW9.0 and C4D 10.1... Maybe newer versions solved this.

Thanks guys. I won't get the files for a few days but it sounds like matters could be a lot worse.

I have always had great luck with Lightwave files in C4D. No mesh surprises (like from 3DS) and the textures are usually right on. If I could request any non-native filetype the first would be FBX and the second would be Lightwave.

-m

So for some reason I was given a .obj instead of a .lwo

It doesn't seem to have any textures, but I know nothing about .obj file format. I'm trying to get hold of the .lwo again but just wondering if there's something in the obj file that I'm missing. I had to use something called Riptide to get the object to show up at all.