Sign in to follow this  
sketchbook

Maxon NAB reel

Maxon posted this online yesterday. As a c4d user, I find it a little embarrassing. The music is awful, and most of the cuts are mediocre at best. Was wondering what others thought about it.

I feel like Maxon doesn't do a good job of finding the best work out there, and they for sure don't know how to cut a compelling reel.

For top c4d motion work I think of studio's like Umeric and Aixsponza. individuals like rizon parein, Tim Clapham and justin bates to name a few.

Maybe I am thinking too much in terms of 3d animation and not motion design, but c4d is a 3d package no?

Maxon NAB Motion Reel

Wouldn't disagree, some impressive stuff showing off the tools but a lot of it's pretty average you're right. I love that capacity cartoon network rebrand though! Just rewatching the reel now, some of the stuff near the end I'd recommend to take out of a student reel! (and I'm still a student myself for another couple of weeks)

The music sounds like it's a techno rip off of Elton Johns "Can You Feel the Love Tonight".

Mustafa noooo....

Hahahaha, Ok good, so i'm not the only one who was thinking that...

AixSponza is in the reel. I have nothing but respect for their work.

http://www.aixsponza.com/index.php?prefs=page__4___lang__en___enum__frame_motion___width__700___/index.phpselect__plugin_aixwell___

I'm on the reel and happy to be in there.

c

Edited by Colin@movecraft

I liked this more than I expected to actually, there's certainly been a lot worse from Maxon in the past. Remember the audience - this is playing in an exhibition booth for a passing crowd probably with no sound, so they're trying to show off all Cinema's features without worrying about making a tight edit. Some was just great, that liquid sequence was gorgeous.

Which is your bit by the way Colin?

edit - just spotted the blinking eye of course it was ;)

Edited by ChrisC