Sign in to follow this  
Neonski

EPIC Depression !!! Advice please.

I've been working as a motion designer for 6 years now on TV-Staion here in Croatia and I must say I'm a little bit lost. I'm afraid that working as an in-house designer I will never live up to my full potential, main reason being that I clash with the firms view of values and style. So most of the time i force myself to do things that are completely uninteresting, and usually I lose so much energy defending the idea, correcting it until its unrecognizable, that i don't want to have anything to do with it in the end. That happens because there are no clear roles in the management.

I tried to find a different job, but the croatian market for motion design is so small that its impossible, I got a few job offers, but all of them in end were less paid and it always the same system. Familiar frustrations would surface soon, and then I would be stuck in the same situations with even less money

Simultaneously i try to work on side projects for some times, and lay the ground for going freelance, and now a few years later i find myself burned out and not step further to starting my freelance career. I have always some clients from here, but the fees are so low that its better not work at all. And I learned that working freelance and full job simultaneously is just watering down my work because I'm to tired and overstressed to make it look great. So i keep producing average results and going further and further from the path i wish to be on.

I would like to start working over the internet on the international market. But i need a honest opinion.

Here is my reel

www.neonski.com

Can i make stuff good enough for the international market. Where to start. Be as brutal as you like. Maybe i just need a cold shower, maybe I just don't have what it takes to make it on my own.

Edited by Neonski