Sign in to follow this  
Guest soultooth

New to the board, with a tech question too...

Guest soultooth

Hello all, just found your site. I hope to see this community grow and become an active member. I am a seasoned designer, with mostly a web background but recently moved into the design and visual fx dept of my company ( www.betelgeuse.com ) . I have been applying my design skills to a bunch of broadcast projects, working with 3d, Flame and Inferno artists and have just taken on the role of doing After Effects as well. This had been a goal of mine for a while, and I havent felt this creative or inspired in a long time. Having been in the design field for 7 years, motion/broadcast design seems more natural to me than anything I have done in the past. I look forward to sharing with and learning from all of you....

ANYWAY......

Here's my problem: I am running AE 5.5 on Windows XP Pro, Service Pack 1 and not able to view my ram previews in realtime. I have an Athlon 1800+ with 1.5gb of ram installed. I dont have this problem on 2 other machines both with less ram but faster processors (both p4's - 2.0 ghz and 2.4 ghz respectively with 512mb ram each). I have been on Adobes site and done some of their suggested tweaks to help performance of ae, but no luck. The time marker actually looks like its halting for a split second every 25 frames or so.

This is happening whether I am viewing the comp at any size and when I am even at half resolution.

I am stumped and pissed off, haha. Only thing i can think is that maybe the processor is just too slow and my video card needs an upgrade ( ATI 32mb All In Wonder 128)

Any insight would be appreciated...

Guest fredcamino